top of page
Search
  • Ruth Perez

Night Hike

Have you ever been on a night hike? When I worked at camp, we would go on hikes at night, no flashlight, and teach kiddos about how our eyes work at night, how animals have a better sense of smell than we do, and other science-y stuff. The first time I led a hike, there was no moon. As I faced the forest, thirty 5th graders standing behind me, I was terrified; terrified I would get us all lost, an animal might attack, I would trip and fall flat on my face. I had hiked that trail hundreds of times before, during the daytime, but none of the preparation felt like enough. I gathered my courage and led those kiddos into the wilderness. They had a blast, but the relief I felt as we returned to the soft glow of the lights in the camp office area was huge. As our eyes adjusted to the lights again, I turned and looked back towards the trail we had just hiked, but all I could see was pitch darkness. At some point during our hike, my eyes had adjusted to the darkness, and it hadn’t felt as overwhelming anymore. But looking back at it, the wall of nothingness was scary once again. How could I have walked around in that without feeling lost? How could I have become accustomed to the absence of light?

This week, my Youth Group Small Group is doing a study on Light- looking at the times in which the Bible uses light as a symbolic reference to truth, love, and being Christ-like. So far, we’ve discussed how John the Baptist was a moon-like light, reflecting Jesus’ true light. We’ve discussed how light needs to be readily accessible and properly positioned, like Esther used her position to shine light on a troubling situation. One of my youth kiddos made an excellent point about wanting to be the kind of light that attracts others- like moths and bugs to a light. I’ve been really convicted by this study, and it’s led me to take a good look at my life. There is so much darkness in the world, and these past couple of weeks have made that exceedingly clear. The question is then, have I become accustomed to that darkness? Have I allowed myself to feel semi-comfortable, allowing myself to adjust to the darkness around? Or am I reflecting Jesus’ truth and love and kindness? Am I using my unique position and voice to shine a light into areas that are difficult, sad, and full of darkness? Am I accessible to others as a source of light? I truly do not know if I am doing things right, if I am being that voice, if I am being that light, but I do know that I desperately want to be. I want to dedicate my whole life to reflecting Jesus and being a source of light that purges darkness and shines true.

To properly do so, I’d like to share with you some of the things we’ve experienced in Oaxaca recently.




We have finished school for the year! My students were so flexible, forgiving, and dedicated to learning, despite the difficulties that came with online schooling. The seniors had nothing but gratitude and happy memories to share in their senior speeches at our social distancing graduation. They smiled through the weirdness and isolation. I had the honor of being their keynote speaker, and though I felt all out of sage advice and wise words, I was glad to remind them to love God wholeheartedly, love people constantly, and make good choices.

We’ve also continued to try Youth Group via zoom meetings, and the kiddos who show up are so excited to socialize and play games together. It’s pushed us leaders to be creative with activities, for sure. Our small groups meet throughout the week to do Bible studies together, and as stated before, they’ve been amazing and convicting. I am blessed by my students and youth kiddos- they are great reminders of why I want to live a life that shouts love, joy, and kindness.


Girasol Women’s Project has had a lot of ups and downs during this pandemic. We still are not able to meet with the girls regularly again, but we have an official cell they can text, so we do have lovely chats with the girls who want to talk. We are currently helping two pregnant girls go to a holistic birthing center that is run by fellow missionaries. They receive parenting classes, personalized care, and it gives us the opportunity to bond with those girls some more. One girl, C, got to hear her baby’s heartbeat for the first time. It was also her birthday the day I took her for her check-up, so we ate breakfast together after, and she told me about her childhood and life. As heartbreaking as her story is, knowing she trusted me enough in the moment to share difficult memories was a reminder of why we do what we do. Oaxaca is struggling, though. Our Covid-19 numbers have skyrocketed, and our state is not equipped to handle it completely. The girls work and live a block away from Oaxaca’s largest market, and that is the epicenter of most cases here. They have told us that people are just dropping dead on the street. Police have been out in full hazmat suits, trying to enforce some regulations, but the truth is that the people who cannot afford to stay home are still showing up to work daily. Then, last week, the market went up in flames. The power went out all around the area. Some girls called us, terrified, worried, and helpless. One girl was brutally attacked that night, and I had to talk to her, also helpless in my ability to go and DO something for her. It was awful. In addition, the restaurant that has supported us and helped us downtown for the past 4 years had to shut down.

The owner, a lovely Christian woman passed away from Covid-19. Her son also died. Our allies downtown are suffering, and there’s very little we can do. It’s been a tough couple of weeks all around. But we are reminded of the darkness we are trying to fight. Some girls do see us as a source of light, and we will fight the darkness one conversation, one girl, one doctor’s visit, one care package at a time.

We need prayer. Girasol and the girls we work with need prayer. Oaxaca needs prayer. From the looks of it, we will be in quarantine (and our numbers of sickness will go up) through July. The needs are quickly multiplying. So far, we have done a couple of batches of care packages for Girasol. My church has also done packages for those in our communities, our church family, and the missions in villages. I know missionaries all around Oaxaca are trying to provide for many people. So, we also need financial help. Care packages cost about 10-12 dollars each, and we are trying to help large groups of people- for an undetermined amount of time.


You can donate to Girasol here:


You can donate directly to me (and I will distribute the funds as needed) here:

https://www.theridgepv.com/donate (Just clarify that the donation goes to Ruth Perez Oaxaca Missions, and the church will send the money here.)


In this time of darkness and difficulty, I know our world faces so much more darkness. The US is facing darkness of hatred and inequality and fear. Everywhere, there is darkness. I am blessed and relieved seeing so many people stand up and work hard to be a light. I see friends and family pointing people towards Jesus and reflecting Jesus. I am strengthened knowing I am not the only one burdened by the passion to shine brightly and truly.

Gracias,

-Ruth

159 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

MIA

bottom of page