top of page
Search
  • Ruth Perez

Holiday Season

Thanksgiving and Christmas are very close together this year. As a teacher and youth leader that means these weeks are pure insanity. And here’s the thing, these holidays come one after the other, often with mixed messages. First, remember what you have that you’re thankful for. Then buy everything you want on sale. Then, in a spirit of giving, wrap some presents and give stuff away. In the Christian community we have the added reminder time and again to remember what these holidays are REALLY about. Sometimes it’s a lot of pressure. But I figured I’d spend a bit telling you: 1. What I’m thankful for, 2. What I need/what I wish there was a sale for, and 3. What I want to give away.

As the year wraps up, I want to let you, my encouragers, supporters, prayer warriors, know that I am incredibly thankful for you. My life is blessed having you in my life, and the ministries I work in are only possible because of you. So thank you. I’m thankful for God’s incredible direction and guidance this year. He’s asked me to take huge steps and do scary things, but He has also given me incredible peace about said steps, so I’m thankful for that. I’m grateful for the opportunity to live a life of service, adventure, and challenges. It is a chance to live my faith in a way that is new every day, and it is a constant reminder to lean on God always. There are many other things I’m thankful for, but these are at the top of the list.

It took me a lot longer to think of a list of things I wish we had a metaphorical Black Friday for. What do I want? I’m often thinking about things I wish I could have, but God has constantly provided for me. I’ve not been IN want. But there are some things that would make this Christmas time even more magical.

Oaxaca Christian School has an Amazon Smile page full of things that could help at the school:

Women’s Project, Girasol, has a donation page that is dedicated to providing help to women working in prostitution. For Christmas, we’d like to reach as many women with love and kindness as possible. We also suffered some water pipe damages at our building and could use some help with fixing it all up. The link for that is here:

I bought a car! Meet Morty, my new missions partner. This purchase was absolutely the right decision; I was in desperate need of transportation. Having a vehicle is making my life easier and I’m able to be more effective in ministry. It has been a financial burden, though, as much as I hate to stress about such things. Any help towards this transportation is truly appreciated. Any donations that go through The Ridge Church come directly to me. I use those funds for my day to day living as well as for the various needs that pop up in the different ministries I participate in here in Oaxaca. To donate, contact:

ridgepvinfo@gmail.com

Lastly, to tell you what I’d like to give away. With all the help we have already received, I know that many lives will be touched with the love of Jesus this Holiday Season. Here are some examples:

The Youth Group had an extraordinary Christmas Party. Everyone made their own Ugly Christmas Sweaters (well they tried, because they were all genuinely adorable), and we gave away delicious lattes and frappuccinos. So fun!

Project Girasol will be providing gifts, cookies, and hopefully a party for Christmas. The ladies have been participating in Zumba classes, manicures, and meals full of meaningful conversation. I cannot express how incredible these last few months of getting to know the ladies have been.

After spending a whole semester pouring out into other people, I am also excited to see family and spend time recharging with them. I’d like to give the people I love and appreciate my time. I’d like to be focused, calm, and able to truly spend quality time with them.


So there you have it. I’m thankful, I have a wishlist, and I have a list of things I’d like to give away. But as stated before, the most important thing is to remember what these Holidays are really about. Here goes:

I am so grateful for my Savior. I’m grateful for His sacrifice, mercy, forgiveness, and adoption of me into His family. I’m glad the Gospel is always available, no special sale or pitch necessary, if only we accept. And it is also the most important gift we share with the world, a gift I want to spend my life sharing.

Gracias,

Ruth

Click Through --> to see some snapshots from this semester!


90 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

MIA

bottom of page