top of page
Search
  • Ruth Perez

Summer!

Hello all! I cannot believe that it's actually summertime and I'm only now posting this update. To be honest, it has sat, semi-finished, for many months now; I've lacked the energy/time/ideas to actually finish it. So for that, I apologize. This has been an incredible season of growth, but that also means that I've been impossibly busy. I'm so excited to share with all of you what has happened since I last shared!

-For school: we finished off the year with a bang! We had one graduate, so his ceremony was personal and very fun. The Jr/Sr class went on their end-of-the-year trip, only to arrive at the beach and have to turn around and go back. We had an unseasonably early and strong hurricane hit the coast. They were such good sports, and we had some fun movie marathons at my house instead. We were so thankful to be in-person and socialize some this year, so any activity is a fun activity right now.

-For Youth Group- we ended our year with a wonderful baseball game tradition. Again, we were very glad to have been able to go at all, since they were cancelled for such a long time. MK camp was also incredible- the staff, the speaker, the games- all of it. Our kiddos had so much fun and made some wonderful connections. It's by far one the my yearly highlights, and I think my students feel the same way. We are looking forward to starting Youth Group in September again, and we're hoping to do so by hosting a small retreat. We are excited to see how that goes!

-Conferences were back, finally! Our Trauma Healing team was able to travel to various villages and train leaders on how to talk about crisis and trauma. We also were able to lead people through some of those difficult conversations about loss and grief. It's so needed now, and we were very grateful to be able to lend a hand and facilitate some of that.

-Girasol! Let me tell you, this ministry is growing so fast! After our more public Christmas party, we noticed that our ministry became a lot more visible to the girls downtown. They poke their heads in and ask for a bottle of water, for acetone for their nails, and now more frequently, for counseling and conversation. It's been such a blessing. When some girls were detained by the police one day (their babies were detained alongside them), our team was called. We spent all day fighting for those girls and their children to be allowed to leave. We housed and cared for as many as we could once they were released. When one lady had to be hospitalized for a week, she asked our team to care for her two year old. It was definitely an adjustment, but we were honored to be asked, and we did our best to provide that kiddo with love and care for the time he stayed with us. When some babies have needed medical care, we've been able to help out. And for the first time, I can say that our team has had the incredible opportunity to help women leave the life of prostitution. I cannot express how blessed we feel to share that. Just a few weeks ago, a woman asked to be placed in a rehab center, and within the day our team had helped her get out of town and placed in a safe place. Not only that, but we've had the chance to share the Gospel, and plant seeds of hope in her life. It's genuinely amazing how God works.

-Which brings me to Amanecer, our new jewelry business. Girasol launched a new branch by opening a jewlery-making business that offers jobs to vulnerable women. We're so excited! We currently have 4 women going through our program, including one woman who left the red light district and whose life has completely changed. They work 4 days a week crafting beautiful earrings and necklaces and bracelets. The fifth day is spent taking courses (from mindfulness and self-esteem to nutrition to finances and job stability). August 19th will be our very first graduation! We've partnered with different ministries in the USA that work with vulnerable women, and they sell our products in their shops and cafes. We've hired teachers/instructors, nannies, social media people, and product managers. God has provided and led us so well and so quickly, and we're blessed to be His hands and feet. I can barley believe the growth in our team, in each of us as individuals, and in the women who are going through the program. It's incredible.


Below is a short video with pictures of each of the aforementioned projects and ministries:




So thank you to all of the people who are supporting me, the ministries I'm involved in, and who pray for us continually. God is doing big things, and I'm grateful to be involved. But I could not do that without you all, so thank you.

I ask for prayer moving forward, as we start a new school year, as we plan for our first Amanecer graduation, as we grow and continue to dream about the future.

I also ask for prayer for more support. I need to raise about 300 dollars per month. My costs have nearly doubled (housing a two year old, baby doctor's visits, longer and more frequent commutes, etc.) and I no longer have the luxury of time to take on extra tutoring or translation to supplement my income.

Please contact me if you are interested in supporting me. Again, I am so grateful for God's provision so far, and I rest easy knowing He has that all figured out.


Gracias,

Ruth

145 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page