top of page
Search
  • Ruth Perez

MIA

Hello friends! I have been absent on this platform for a while, so let me explain and also update everyone on what has been going on!


So I missed my fall blog due to the fact that I went on vacation! Can you believe it? I can barely believe it myself. I took a few weeks off to rest, be a tourist, and celebrate 7.5 years on the mission field. I took thousands of pictures, so there's no way I will be able to pick some to share, but know that it was all very picturesque and beautiful.

I've missed my start-of-the-year blog because I have written a few blogs for out official Girasol website (which, if you haven't read those, you can do so here: https://girasolproject.wordpress.com/blog/ ) Some of those are written by me; some are written by our other leadership and staff members. We've been so excited about the launch and updates on our website, so I got caught up on those.


So here we are- April!


I am almost done with my 8th year teaching at OCS. This year I am teaching 9/10 English and AP English Language. I have pretty big classes (for OCS) so our discussions and our projects are lively and fun. I am also working with the Jr/Sr class to fundraise for their end-of-the-year trip to the beach, which has been really fun. Last semester I led a Drama Elective- we ended up putting on a whole production. The kids did an amazing job- and we had a blast!

I continue to lead Youth Group along with some fabulous new leaders that have joined this year. I am so grateful to share the workload with people who are invested in and excited about working with MKs. We had MK camp a few weeks ago- and it was such a blessing to be at camp (one of my favorite places in the world) surrounded by other youth leaders pouring in to MKs. It was genuinely wonderful.


Girasol is growing by leaps and bounds. Our team has grown in unity. We have new volunteers, new activities going on at the drop-in center, and new ways to share Christ's love with the women downtown. Everything, from our Christmas Party to our day-to-day is prepared with such love- it's been wonderful to see. Amanecer Jewelry is also growing! We have expanded and have more women working with us. We finished up our 2nd round of classes and celebrated with a beautiful graduation ceremony. It's been such a learning experience, and we're so grateful to have the opportunity to serve women in this way.

Since I didn't go to the States last summer to visit churches, I am planning on visiting in July this year- both Tucson and Prescott, AZ. I hope to see many of you on my short trip!


Thank you for your continued prayer and support. I could not do any of this without it. As you continue to pray, I ask that you pray specifically for:

  • Me as I get used to some changes in my housing. My roommate moved back to the States, so I have to adjust and get used to the new routines and habits, expenses, and plus it's just plain sad to lose that proximity to a friend that has been so constant the past 6 years.

  • OCS as we figure out plans for the upcoming school year and fill staffing needs.

  • Girasol as we welcome our very first US Work Group- that we would be efficient in translating, do well connecting and building relationships with the women we reach, and have a wonderful and uplifting time together.

I am so grateful for you all

Gracias,

-Ruth


82 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page