top of page
Search
  • Ruth Perez

Rewards


Ever since I became a full-time missionary, people have told me how wonderful it is that I am building so much reward in heaven (their words, not mine). I find this to be quite strange, since that cannot be the reason they think I am in missions. If it were, then those rewards would be moot, no? Perhaps people just don't know what else to say, seeing how the choice to give up a job and financial security to work four jobs with no finances is a bit overwhelming. It's a nice sentiment, though. And it is kind of people to be so excited for my eternal security.

It is also a reminder of a major lesson I have learned these past couple of years: how incredibly blessed and rewarded I have been here on Earth already. Giving up everything is the best way to show you how much you have. This summer I made a trip to the States, and I was surrounded by people taking care of me, praying for me, giving me free school supplies, and spending time with me. My friends surrounded me, making sure I rested, ate my favorite foods, and recharged in order for me to be completely ready for another year on the field. My church family came beside me to pray for the needs in Oaxaca, plan for the future of these ministries, and shower me with encouragement and excitement for the coming year. To everyone who did these things, Thank YOU! My heart is full and I feel so ready to jump right back into the swing of things.

I arrived back to Mexico on August 10th, and I hit the ground running. School staff meeting began right away. We are so excited to have a couple of new staff members and teachers, meaning we are way less short-staffed than in previous years. The High School is pretty full this year! There are more students this year than in many previous years (though our Elementary is a bit lower in numbers). My classes started off great! 7th-10th grades are reading fun short stories as we prepare to read some of my favorite novels. AP Language is exciting. It's my biggest class, and we have already had some amazing discussions and debates. AP Psychology started off with the Scientific Method and Statistics (both of these are NOT my cup of tea, but we made it through this chapter, and my respect for the math and science teachers has gone way up).

Youth Group will start soon. We are planning a weekend retreat to the mountains to begin the Youth Group year, and we already have leaders/chaperones helping out! The theme this year is ("My Promises: A covenant") is an echo of last year's ("God's Promises: These things remain"). It's going to be a challenge to the youth and to us as leaders, but we are very excited to see what God does.

The Women's Project has seen some amazing developments as well. We are currently working on getting doctors together to help with a medical outreach downtown, since we currently have two pregnant women there. They have both been very open to and excited for our help. We also have a huge praise: a girl who had been planning on moving away decided to stay in Oaxaca. She has less work here than she might if she went to a border city, but she said that since she has more friends here (I'm 100% hoping she means us as well) and is comfortable here, she decided against moving. She is very young, and one of the friendliest young ladies we visit, so we are thrilled we will get to continue our friendship with her.

Our church is in celebration mode. This coming month is the 13th anniversary of when it was built, and September is Mexican Independence Month. We are having work days (full of painting, cleaning, and lots of food) as well as new classes for Sunday School. The church has also started a seminary class available to all church leaders in Oaxaca. This past weekend was the first meeting. They had a great turnout, and they are excited to see how the next three years (huge commitment, awesome endeavor) of courses go!

When God gives blessings, He doesn't hold back. My time as a missionary is teaching me about being grateful and reminding me to see the blessings every day. Perhaps the reward in Heaven will be great, and I'm excited for the day we all meet there and celebrate. But I am so thankful for the rewards I feel I am given on a daily basis here, too. The reward of participating in something I am so passionate about, and being a part of what God is doing here. The rewards of friendship, encouragement, prayer, love, joy, and kindness.

So thank you for being a part of this.

Keep praying for us! God Bless,

-Ruth


74 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

MIA

bottom of page